Blurbs!

Here are all of the blurbs Heaven's Crooked Finger has received so far. Not bad for three months before the book comes out!

"Hank Early's Heaven's Crooked Finger is a twisty, page-turning, modern Southern Gothic that packs an emotional wallop. His everyday and down-and-out characters are authentically rendered. Fans of Daniel Woodrell and Donald Ray Pollock take notice, Heaven's Crooked Finger is the real deal."

-Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and Disappearance at Devil's Rock

"Heaven's Crooked Finger is a first-class mystery - gripping, atmospheric, and tense from beginning to end. Hank Early's storytelling is truly outstanding."

-Andrew Grant, author of False Friend

"Hank Early's Heaven's Crooked Finger grabs you from the first page and doesn't let go. Evocative place writing, memorable-as-hell characters, sentences that hum, great pacing, and a strutting brutality. Early's a writer of great power. This is one that will stick with me, and I'm already looking forward to whatever's next."

--William Boyle, author of Gravesend

"Hank Early marches out of Harper Lee’s Alabama with a Southern Gothic detective story that will long leave readers catching their breath. This one leaves a mark. Early writes like kudzu: The seed drops in the first chapters. The reader should run, lest they soon find themselves entangled, unable to wrest themselves free." 

Eryk Pruitt, author of DirtbagsHashtag, and What We Reckon

"Can the dead come back to life? That's the question PI Earl Marcus has to answer when he returns to the creepy town in rural Georgia he left thirty years before to find out if his recently deceased father - the maniacal leader of a religious cult - has fulfilled his promise to return after he dies. Heaven's Crooked Finger has action, suspense and a cracking good mystery. By the way, if you are afraid of snakes, don't read this book." 

--Phillip Margolin, New York Times bestselling author of Violent Crimes and The Third Victim

"With Heaven’s Crooked Finger, Hank Early has not only written one of the very best novels I’ve read this year, but also introduced me to my favorite new mystery detective, Earl Marcus. This book is an expert mixture of action, suspense, and compelling characterization that easily establishes Early as a literary force of nature. Heaven’s Crooked Finger is going to be on a lot of Best of 2017 lists."

—Bracken MacLeod, Bram Stoker Award nominated author of STRANDED and COME TO DUST

From the opening pages of this book, you know you’re in the hands of a rare talent. Hank Early has penned a fast-paced, thought provoking, and thoroughly satisfying southern mystery. Heaven’s Crooked Finger is a truly astonishing debut, and one of the best rural mysteries I’ve ever read.

-John Rector Wall Street Journal Bestselling author of The Ridge, Already Gone, and The Cold Kiss

Hank EarlyComment